Antarctic Treaty System

In this article we will discuss Antarctic Treaty System

Antarctic Treaty System

  • Antarctic Treaty and related agreements are collectively known as the Antarctic Treaty System.
  • It regulates international relations with respect to Antarctica.
  • Antarctica is defined as all of the land and ice shelves south of 60°S latitude.
  • Antarctic Treaty Secretariat Headquarters is in Buenos Aires, Argentina.
  • Antarctic treaty:
  • Entered into force in 1961
  • Currently has 53 parties
  • Sets aside Antarctica as a scientific preserve
  • Provisions:
  • Antarctica shall be used for peaceful purposes only.
  • Freedom of scientific investigation in Antarctica and cooperation toward that end shall continue.
  • Scientific observations and results from Antarctica shall be exchanged and made freely available.

By sudrishna46

I work as an Analyst and i love wildlife and travel vlogging

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *